An Interview With A Muhajir in Bilad Al Sham From Maldives

abuumarmaldifi

In the Name of Allah The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful.

PART 1

Introduction:

Interviewer: Asalam Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabaratuh, Welcome and Jazak’ Allah Khairan for making some time to speak with us.

Muhajir from Maldives: Walaikum Asalam Warahamatullahi Wabarakatuh, Barak Allah feeka, and it is my pleasure to help in the little way I could with the work of Dawah.

Interviewer: Please give us a brief Introduction about yourself.

Muhajir from Maldives: My name is Abu Umar Al Maldifi. I had been in a white collar job in Maldives after completion of University Studies in abroad. And currently I am a trained, Mujahid of Tanzeemu al Qaida fi Bilad Al Sham Jabhat al-Nusra.

  1. How did you start your journey in Jihad?

It was around the time of Arab Spring  I was aware of oppression against Muslims prior to this. The formation of Jihadi groups and its involvement against Assad regime was what really got me interested in Jihad. I used to watch a lot of Jihadi videos on YouTube too. My companions then were of the thinking that you require permission of Ameer to go out for Jihad and they were of Murjiah which I came to realize much later. But for me personally, it didn’t make sense to sit back without an excuse when the whole Ummah is being butchered. The curiosity pushed me to start my own research on Jihad.

  1. How did you learn about Jihad?

I found a collection of books about Jihad online. Firstly The Book of Jihad by Ibn Nuhaas. This is a great book which has all the information you need to know about Jihad with proofs from the Quraan and Sunnah. In this book I came across so many hadith which I have never seen or heard of being mentioned by a scholar. Then Abu Dujanah Maldifi directed me towards the audio lectures of Sheikh Anwar Awlaki. These lectures were very beneficial. In addition to this the books by Sheikh Abdulla Azzam and Yusuf Al Uyayri were my sources of learning.

  1. What inspired you to come to Jihad and why did you choose Syria?

The importance of acting upon the knowledge that you have is what drove me to go out for Jihad.
When you learn the reasons why Jihad is fard ayn upon the Ummaah now given its state it becomes obligatory.

Also the reward of fighting Jihad fi sabeelillah is so great and the honor Allah gives the Mujahideen is so much that you can’t stay away from this path once you know about it.

The reason why I chose Syria is the oppression and slaughter of Ahluh Sunnah Wal Jama’at which is going on at the present time. Also I read a lot of hadith about the blessed land of Shaam and the events that were going to take place here towards the end of time.

When I learned that Maldivian brothers were in Shaam I questioned myself.

I followed them from the time they made their presence online. Dawah work of Bilad al Sham Media and Abu Dujanah Maldifi really influenced me.
Also the biographies of Abu Nuh and Abu Turab inspired me to take the step. They were ordinary people who lived normal lives but their goal was to seek the pleasure of Allaah. May Allaah grant them the highest in Jannah.

  1. How did Abu Dujanah Maldifi inspire you?

I can’t really express how inspiring he was. His posts and his debates with people online proved that he was a knowledgeable person and a proper student of knowledge. His posts daily were answering questions I had on jihad. I learnt a lot about the knowledge of Jihad from him. With the growing fitnah of Dawlah Abu Dujanah’s abstract explaining their errors were very beneficial to know the truth about the extremism of Jama’at of Dawlah.

  1. When did you decide to make Hijra?

After learning about Jihad I knew I must do it. I always try hard to act upon the knowledge I get because it is one of the things you will be questioned on the day of Judgment. Even though I knew I must go for Jihad I didn’t know how or who to contact. I didn’t have much friends with Jihad thinking. I kept looking for ways to enter Syria.

I constantly made dua that Allah opens a way for me to go for Jihad. I didn’t have the financial means either. When the coalition attacks began I feared the ways to get into Syria through Turkey might get blocked. I realized I had to make the move soon. At this point I contacted brother in Shaam (name has been removed under editing) and told him I wanted to make Hijra. He and another brother in Shaam (names have been removed under editing) helped me from constant advice to everything else since the time I contacted that brother. May Allah reward them immensely for that. Ameen.

  1. What kind of preparations did you make?

The journey starts from the moment you decide to make Hijra. You get all kinds of waswaas from Shaytaan and this is just normal. You must try very hard to be fixed on your objective and why you are doing this. Everyday every hour was a battle against the waswaas. At one point I thought of delaying because I had no financial means to make the journey. I did get distracted and almost off the path. Allah showed me a sign by which I was able to get back on track. Alhamdhulillah.

  1. What was the sign?

It was almost when I had given up on making Hijra I came across a translation of an ayat of Quran on TV just randomly.

And what is wrong with you that you fight not in the Cause of Allah, and for those weak, ill-treated and oppressed among men, women, and children, whose cry is: “Our Lord! Rescue us from this town whose people are oppressors; and raise for us from You one who will protect, and raise for us from You one who will help.”

It was like a wake up call. I started praying Tahajjud regularly and making lots of dua. Not only after Salah but every minute of the day I kept making dua. And with the brother in Shaam’s direction I prayed Isthikhara and made the dua of Isthikhara continuously in every step of my way. That’s when I really felt that dua is the weapon of the believer.

Subhanallah! Allah opens up opportunities from ways that you can never imagine.

  1. Can you tell us about one of the most unbelievable thing that happened to you when you started the Journey?

Like I said, Allah opens up the opportunities from ways you can never imagine when you take the first step towards full filling a good action.

I began my journey after informing the brother in Shaam (name removed under editing) that I am travelling with the little cash I had and just my laptop. In the mere hope in sha Allah that I would be able to sell the laptop and get the cash for the next plane I was suppose to catch. Yes, I had no cash for my whole journey. But that was all the wealth I had then. But I kept my Tawakkal alaa Allah (trust in Allah).

If I could not sell out the laptop I would have to take a detour back to Maldives or be stranded. I made a lot of dua to Allah with lot of hope and fear to make “my not so feasible plan work”. I had no one but Allah to rely upon. This was the situation in which I began my Hijrah towards Bilad Al Sham.

The brother in Shaam (name removed under editing) did not say much with regard to my financial difficulty when I went out with just my laptop under my arms, though he and the other brother in Shaam (names have been removed under editing) had already made a plan for me. I was constantly making dua and feeling a bit anxious with not being able to sell off my only means to get some finance and move ahead.

And Allah’s help came in ways that I did not perceive. When I took the first step the brothers in Shaam (the names have been removed under editing) informed me that I do not need to sell my laptop and he and the other brother helped provide me with the provisions for my journey. Alhamdulillahi I caught my flight on time and moved ahead. Which made me quite stunt and very thankful to Allah. It taught me the biggest lesson with regard to putting my trust wholeheartedly upon Allah.

  1. Can you give an advice for your brothers who are awaiting to make Hijrah to the places of Jihad?

First and foremost it is very important for your intention to be sincerely for the sake of Allah. In anything a person does it depends highly upon the purity of the niyah as a Muslim. After that put one’s trust upon Allah wholeheartedly while at the same time holding on to the reason (asbaab) and working towards one’s goal. It is very important to pray tahajjad and make du’a during the last third of the night. And with regard to every single step of your way you need to make use of isthikhara prayer and it’s du’a. Anything which is bad for you in this dhunya and akhirah will be distant from you and everything that is good in dhunya and akhirah will be made close to you and if there is no good in that other doors will be opened for you in ways you cannot perceive.

Another important matter is that if you are making Hijrah and coming for Jihad your basis should not be based on just zeal after watching some videos with special effects and nasheeds. Nor should it be based upon the number of restaurants and amount of dhunya you will be able to get after you come here.

You should at least try to gain the basic knowledge of Jihad and the current situations of muslims around the world. For example, what is the ruling of Jihad, Types of Jihad, why we have to make Jihad etc.

Also when Jihad has been infiltrated with extremism one has to study which Jam’at are making Jihad under the correct ideology of Islam. Haqq, the truth should not be seek depending upon the whims of your desire. Nor like I said from short 3 minute YouTube videos of beheading or from Abu Bara, Anjem Choudary who doesnot have the qualification of a scholar. Haqq can be attained from Quran and Sunnah, and the way of Salaf al Saliheen and based upon what the truthful Ulama say regarding the current situations occurring around the world.

Furthermore, it is very important to maintain the secrecy during the Hijrah and after you make Hijrah too. Because there are many who wear the cloak of following the sunnah yet reports to the Police and many spies are around on constant watch. But Allah is Great!

Your plans should be between you and Allah. After that confide in the trust worthy person who have the means to get you inside to the place of your desired destination. A trustworthy friend who can give you advice while you may get waswas when you make the intention of Hijrah like in my case the brother in Shaam.

Those are just few of the key points that you need to keep in mind.

Well, may Allah make it easy upon you, help you through in every step of your way to come for Hijrah for Jihad and grant you success and help you attain the best place as a martyred in Jannatul Firdawus. Ameen.

Inteviewer: Jazak Allah Khairan for your time with Bilad Al Sham Media and for your valuable advices for our viewers. Asalam Alaikum Warahamatullahi Wabarakatuh. Fi amanillahi.

Abu Umar Al Maldifi: Wa Iyyaka. Walaikum Asalam Warahamatullahi Wabarakatuh. Fi amanillahi.

Leave a Reply

